What to Change?

On my way home from the dentist’s office today, after a lot of talk about prevention, maintenance, and what damage cannot be undone, I thought about change.  I would change those years of ice chewing (shudder).  I would undo all that grinding and whatnot I inflicted upon my teeth.

Ah, to be older and wiser.  And thinking about teeth.  There’s a sort of cosmic humor in there somewhere.

But what else warrants change?  Would I change, for instance, my son?  Would I hand in some of his difficulties and challenges and have him miraculously be different?

No, I wouldn’t.

Despite the sometimes difficult times we go through together, with teasing and miscommunication, with teacher frustrations and classroom challenges, social disconnects and balance issues, I wouldn’t change him.  I wouldn’t roll the dice and exchange the difficulties for a different child.

I wouldn’t even consider it.

Sometimes, all these issues seem like a cloud swirling around a center core.  And my son’s core is sound.  How could I possibly want to change something that might affect that?  Our family treasures his golden heart and generosity.  We love his witty remarks and sense of humor.  His intelligence makes us proud, and his attachment to family touches a chord in me so deep I can’t even describe the feeling.

So bring on the challenges.  We’ll work through them, just like we have been.  We love our boy just the way he is.

And I know a lot of you out there feel the same way about your difficult, challenged, wonderful children.

 

About aspergerfamily3

Living in an Asperger's World, surrounded by a love of learning, interesting people, and daily challenges.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

